Saturday, November 22, 2014

*Stacking the Shelves* November 22nd Edition

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Stacking the Shelves for the weeks of November 15 thru November 22, 2014

Welcome back!  
I want to thank everyone for their continued support!
Please have a safe and Happy Thanksgiving week!

Received from Harper Voyager via Edelweiss

Received from ACE Trade via Edelweiss

Received from Alloy Entertainment via NetGalley


Borrowed from Library





Friday, November 21, 2014

*Gizmos Book Reviews* Blood Games (Chicagoland Vampires #10) by Chloe Neill

*Synopsis*

While Merit didn’t choose to become a vampire or Sentinel of Cadogan House, she vowed to fight for her House and its Master, and she’s managed to forge strong alliances with powerful supernaturals across Chicago. But even though Merit has had wild adventures, this may be her deadliest yet...

A killer is stalking Chicago, preying on humans and leaving his victims with magical souvenirs. The CPD hasn’t been able to track the assailant, and as the body count rises, the city is running out of options. Vampires and humans aren’t on great terms, but murder makes for strange bedfellows. Can Merit find the killer before she becomes a target?


*My Thoughts*

Blood Games once again splits Merit's attention into several different directions. Not only does she have to deal with the media labeled Tarot Card Killer that hits close to home, but Ethan's challenge to Darius West and the GP's response to said challenge comes to call. But, that just scrapes the surface for what Neill puts Merit through in the 10th installment of the Chicagoland Vampires series.

I have no words for how disappointed I was with Blood Games. I think 3 stars is the best I can do with what I was given to work with. Not that I am bored with the series, there was just too much of Ethan keeping secrets from Merit and expecting that she wouldn't walk away or feel like she was being ignored by someone who supposedly wants a future deep into eternity with her. I guess when you consider the so called prophecy of future events between Merit and Ethan, in a way it makes perfect sense that they are still together.

When the couple does show affection, they don't go half way. I just wish we could put Ethan's past behind us and get on with other more interesting things like the arrival of Ethan's friend Amit Patel, the most powerful vampire in the world and the full truth behind Ethan's sire Balthasar, and what happens now that things have been turned upside down.

I will say that I would have been perfectly fine without the Tarot Card aspect of this story. It wasn't necessarily a bad thing, but it did take a major portion of the story away from Ethan's challenge, and facing off against a familiar foe from his past. I would have loved to see more action and mystery and perhaps a bit more danger from the GP than what was written.

On the other hand, it's a good thing it was added since it brought Mallory and Merit together to find the killer. I was impressed with Mallory. I like that she seems to finally have her head attached and doing things the right way. I like that her relationship with Catcher has moved forward instead of back. I like that Mallory and Merit have regained much of their lost friendship after some devastating issues that tore their friendship apart in past episodes. I like that she's found a way to become useful by helping others, and is interested in forensic magic.

I will say that I am not bored with Merit, her attitude, or the fact that as a Sentinel, she's actually grown leaps and bounds from the first installment. She knows that she has a job to do, and wants to do it the best she can and stands up to anyone who poses a danger to the house. I do wish, however, that we can finally put the whole fighting with stiletto boots on to rest. Have you ever tried running with stiletto heels? I'd also like a book where Merit isn't stabbed, shot, kidnapped, knocked out, or having had her bell wrung one too many times.

I also like the Ombuddies (Jeff, Catcher, and PawPaw Merit). I like how they are back in business and in the middle of everything once again. I would to see more of Jonah and Merit working together and maybe the rest of the Red Guard as well. I think they definitely click and make an excellent team. The rest of the team has been slowly revealed, but not entirely. I know people want to drool all over Ethan, but I can't help myself for wishing the best for Jonah.

In the end, I don't see why Neill chose THAT ending to Blood Games. After everything Ethan, Merit and Cadogan House has been through thanks to the GP, THAT is what we as readers can expect? Really? Call me absolutely floored and bored. I am damn sure hoping that Dark Debt refocuses the series back to where Merit and Ethan aren't spending half their time fighting or keeping secrets.


Author - Chloe Neill
Title - Blood Games
Series - Chicagoland Vampires # 10
Published by NAL Trade
Released: August 5, 2014
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 350 pages




Thursday, November 20, 2014

*Gizmos Early Reviews* City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

**I received this book for free from Hachette/Orbit in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

*Blurb*

Still coming to terms with their unexpected partnership, Augustine and Harlow have a tentative truce. With Harlow slowly working to accept being fae, Augustine still learning how to be Guardian, and feelings growing on both sides though, they do not have an easy road ahead.

But when a young girl is stolen from the Mardi Gras Exemplar Ball -- the biggest far event of the year -- Harlow and Augustine must put all their issues aside to bring her home alive. Harlow's father, Braziano, is of course their number one suspect, but evil lurks in every corner of the city and time is running out. Their only choices: Either find a way to rescue the girl, or Augustine must die.


*My Thoughts*

City of Eternal Night is the sequel to House of the Rising Sun which means events of this book, pick up right where House left off. If you've read Painter's Comarre series, you know that she has created a pretty unique, and interesting world which takes place in the not too distant future (2068). Supernaturals like vampires, fae, and shifters have come out and live closely with humans, especially in places like New Orleans where the Fae rule the city.

Harlow Goodwin spent her entire life refusing to accept her heritage, instead choosing to live as a human where she was really good with computers. Ever since she moved to New Orleans, and lost her mother Olivia, Harlow has come to accept more about who she really is. Her fae abilities allow her to manipulate machines and feel emotions, good or bad, from those she touches. Her abilities have also changed since we first met her, and one can only believe they will continue to manifest even more.

Harlow also learned about her father Joseph Branzino who is truly an evil man through and through and has refused to give in to his demands. Her relationship with Augustine has slowly gained traction, not unlike Chrysabelle and Malcolm in the Comarre series. I think that they were moving in the right direction until Harlow's game changing choice throws everything into chaos.

I will say that after House, I was a bit curious to see whether or not Harlow grew up as a character. She does in many ways, her powers, while not in other ways. She definitely becomes more involved in things, and doesn't just sit in the background. But, in the end, it is her choice that causes more harm than good.

Guardian/shadeux/smokesinger fae Augustine Robelias has lived an interesting life. Never really given a chance to succeed by his mother, he found love, support, and a home in the form of actress Olivia Goodwin and Lally her companion of many years. Now that Augustine is the Guardian, his past sexual exploits have been put behind him to concentrate on learning how to be the Guardian of the city.

Augustine faces a difficult challenge when the daughter of the Prime is kidnapped, and the only way she goes free, is if Augustine does something risky and dangerous. I really do like Augie. I think he's a straight up badass and willing to do anything to help Harlow succeed and learn about being a Fae while attempting to uncover plots against him and the fae. I also like the fact that he's far from perfect as a character, but truly does mean well in his actions. If will be fascinating to read about how he deals with Harlow's bad choice.

There really are lots of others things to discuss, especially Giselle's megalomaniac behavior and power plays, Harlow's new abilities, the powerful artifact that has been kept a secret for a reasons, and Lally's connection to said artifact. But, I prefer not to spoil things for future readers. I am glad that one particular challenge has been resolved and not still hanging around taking up story space.

I have to say that of all the secondary characters, Lally is by far my favorite with Fenton, and Dulcinea close behind. Interesting to once again see Chrysabelle, Malcolm, and Mortalis appear in this installment although I am not surprised.

Orbit will be releasing Garden of Dreams and Desires April 7th 2015.

Author - Kristen Painter
Title - City of Eternal Night
Series - Crescent City # 2
Published by Hachette/Orbit
Released date: December 2, 2014
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback, 436 pages





Tuesday, November 18, 2014

*Gizmos Book Reviews* The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

**I received this book for free from Little, Brown Books for Young Reader via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

*Synopsis*

730. That's how many days I've been trapped.
18. That's how many days I have left to find a way out.

DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible....

JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister....

MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She's about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window.....

In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.


*My Thoughts*

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin is a well thought-out, well researched story with realistic characters that jump off the pages and keep you entertained right till the bitter end. The Walled City is a place where criminals, fugitives, prostitutes, gangsters, and homeless kids struggle to survive in a city of 30,000 people all confined to a space no larger that 1 mile in diameter.

The Walled City is NOT a dystopian novel which has caused a bit of a sensation and shock with some reviewers. I, myself, fell into that trap until 747's started flying overhead and then I knew it was something else entirely. It is perhaps more of a thriller, or contemporary story because of its actual setting and realism. One shouldn't avoid reading this story because it's not what you expected.

The Walled City features 3 characters who couldn't be more different even if they tried. The story alternatives between the 3 characters POV which makes you sit up and take notice where the story breaks are and who is telling the story.

14-year old Jin Ling survives the mean streets of the Walled City by disguising herself as a boy. She keeps alive by running, stealing, and carrying a knife to protect her from gangs and vagrants. Her mission: find her sister Mei Yee who was sold off by their own father and bring her home. Her 3 rules for survival are run fast, trust no one, and always carry a knife. A girl found alone in the city ends up being sent directly to the brothel without any hopes of freedom. Jin's only companion is a cat named Chma who is never very far from her side. Jin is by far the most interesting and likable character in this story. She's brave, intelligent, fierce, and unyielding in her determination in finding her older sister. I'm also biased because of the cat angle. Sorry!

17-year old Mei Yee (her sister) was sold by her father to Reapers and ends up in the City's brothel which is controlled by the Brotherhood. After 2 years of living and barely surviving in the brothel and being the exclusive prostitute to an Ambassador, Mei Yee's hopes for escape seems to come from a mysterious boy who is looking for a way to bring down the Brotherhood. Mei isn't the strongest character in this story. She eventually comes around and gains traction as someone to root for, but she's definitely not Jin Ling. Then again, we as readers are told that Jin stood up against their own father while Mei was meek.

Sun Dai Shing is an 18-year old boy who made some bad choices and now is looking for a bit of redemption. As the book picks up, his time in the city is counting down before he is arrested for his past actions. Dai needs help trying to find something that his handler needs to bring down the Brotherhood. He joins forces with Jin, who pretty much does most of the dirty work. Later, a connection is made between Dai and Mei, and Dai is perhaps the older brother than both girls deserved when they were growing up.

The Walled City is a dark book considering it's labeled for Young Adults. I would dare say that perhaps a bit of a warning would go a long way in avoiding shocking the crap out of those who may be a bit sickened or disturbed by the subject matter. The Walled City touches on the subject of sex trafficking which is out of control in our world today. Too many of our young kids are taken away, or sold by their own parents for money. They have no control, or hopes of ever seeing home again. Too many of these kids are never seen from or heard from again. I would suggest that it is time for every country to step up to the plate, and start protecting our children from sexual predators that don't have their best interests at heart.

In the end, yes I would definitely recommend The Walled City to my followers and others. I think readers will love Jin. I do like the fact that Ryan did not throw a love triangle in the middle of everything else that was happening. I think it would have totally devastated my reading enjoyment of the story. Perhaps it is because I like stories with a bit of darkness, but The Walled City is definitely worth reading.


Author - Ryan Graudin
Title - The Walled City
Published by Little, Brown for Young Readers
Released: November 4, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller
Format: E-Book, 448 pages




Monday, November 17, 2014

*Top Ten Tuesday* Top Ten Sequels I Can't Wait To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic and we all share our thoughts on that topic! I decided it was finally time to jump on board with this wicked fun meme!

Top Ten Sequels I Can't Wait to Read!

1. Ensnared (Splintered # 3) by A.G. Howard
After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She's determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles . . . and even if the only way to Wonderland, now that the rabbit hole is closed, is through the looking-glass world--a parallel dimension filled with mutated and violent netherling outcasts. In the final installment of the wildly popular Splintered trilogy, Alyssa and her dad journey into the heart of magic and mayhem in search of her mom and to set right all that's gone wrong. Together with Jeb and Morpheus, they must salvage Wonderland from the decay and destruction that has ensnared it. But if they succeed and come out alive, can everyone truly have their happily ever after? 
Kindle Edition384 pages
Expected publication: January 6th 2015 by Amulet Books

2. Willowgrove (Hemlock # 3) by Kathleen Peacock
Willowgrove is Kathleen Peacock's riveting conclusion to the Hemlock trilogy, a dark, romantic, paranormal suspense series that pits friendship against survival, and trust against love.

Ever since Mac's best friend, Amy, was murdered, Hemlock has been a dangerous place. But now that Mac, her boyfriend, Kyle, and Amy's ex, Jason, have investigated a mass breakout from Thornhill, a werewolf "rehabilitation" camp, the danger has only grown. Fear of the infection spreading is now at an all-time high, and anyone with a scar is suspected of being a wolf.

What makes Mac even more afraid, though, are the dark experiments that the warden of Thornhill was performing on wolves in a secret asylum called Willowgrove. Uncovering the truth about what happened may be the only way for Mac to save everyone she loves and end her nightmares for good.(less)
Kindle Edition384 pages
Expected publication: January 6th 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
3. White Knight (Cornerstone Run Trilogy # 3) by Kelly Meade
Checkmate…

Despite a month of peace from hybrid attacks, the constant threat of violence has the loup garou on edge. Knight McQueen’s home feels like a military compound and his people have become battle-weary soldiers. And Knight’s tenuous grip on his own self-control has been further damaged by the disappearance of the only woman whose touch brings him peace.

Held prisoner by her hybrid half-sisters and forced to care for an unknown child, Shay Butler’s quarterly is approaching but a silver-laced collar prevents her from shifting. As her time draws closer, her sanity begins to slip.

The opportunity to rescue Shay arrives when Magus enemy Archimedes Atwood requests a parley to discuss ways to end the conflict between their people and stop the rogue hybrids. Alpha Bishop McQueen agrees, bringing his brothers together to form a plan that will bring Shay home to Knight, stop the final two hybrids—and finally bring Archimedes to justice once and for all… (less)
Kindle Edition
Expected publication: January 20th 2015 by InterMix
4. Transmuted (The St. Croix Chronicles # 6) by Karina Cooper
Book six of the St. Croix Chronicles

In this final installment of Cherry St. Croix's adventures, only one thing could compel the disgraced countess to return to Society—the threat of immortality.

All is not peaceful in the wake of the Midnight Menagerie's ruin. Although the Karakash Veil has been forced to flee its stronghold, the mysterious head of the criminal organization is not content to fade away.

Above the foggy drift, a priceless diamond vanishes. In the dangerous Underground, a murderous rampage demands retribution. The hunt for the mastermind behind these misdeeds sends me back to Society—and into the unforgiving embrace of the world I'd left behind.
Nothing is what it seems. Enemies, allies—and a man who struggles with a nature even devotion cannot tame. Torn between the scars of the past and fragile new beginnings, I must create balance in the world I have chosen—and with the people I have come to love. The game has changed; should the Veil achieve the immortality it craves, I will have nowhere left to run.

Expected publication: January 26th 2015 by Carina Press

5. Vision in Silver (The Others # 3) by Anne Bishop
The Others freed the  cassandra sangue  to protect the blood prophets from exploitation, not realizing their actions would have dire consequences. Now the fragile seers are in greater danger than ever before—both from their own weaknesses and from those who seek to control their divinations for wicked purposes. In desperate need of answers, Simon Wolfgard, a shape-shifter leader among the Others, has no choice but to enlist blood prophet Meg Corbyn’s help, regardless of the risks she faces by aiding him.

Meg is still deep in the throes of her addiction to the euphoria she feels when she cuts and speaks prophecy. She knows each slice of her blade tempts death. But Others and humans alike need answers, and her visions may be Simon’s only hope of ending the conflict.

For the shadows of war are deepening across the Atlantik, and the prejudice of a fanatic faction is threatening to bring the battle right to Meg and Simon’s doorstep… (less)
Hardcover368 pages
Expected publication: March 3rd 2015 by Roc
6. The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy # 2) by Marie Rutkoski
Book two of the dazzling Winner's Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.

The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement…if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For—unknown to Arin—Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret.

As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them. (less)
Hardcover416 pages
Expected publication: March 3rd 2015 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
7. Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke (Prisoner of Night & Fog) by Anne Blankman
The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler’s inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives with a kindly English family, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel Cohen, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then, Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen’s world turns upside-down. And when she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she’d escaped-and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture and recognition, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel’s name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time-or will Hitler discover them first? (less)
Hardcover416 pages
Expected publication: April 21st 2015 by Balzer + Bray
8. Pirate's Alley (Sentinels of New Orleans # 4) by Suzanne Johnson
Wizard sentinel DJ Jaco thought she had gotten used to the chaos of her life in post-Katrina New Orleans, but a new threat is looming, one that will test every relationship she holds dear.

Caught in the middle of a rising struggle between the major powers in the supernatural world—the Wizards, Elves, Vampires and the Fae—DJ finds her loyalties torn and her mettle tested in matters both professional and personal.

Her relationship with enforcer Alex Warin is shaky, her non-husband, Quince Randolph, is growing more powerful, and her best friend, Eugenie, has a bombshell that could blow everything to Elfheim and back. And that's before the French pirate, Jean Lafitte, newly revived from his latest "death," returns to New Orleans with vengeance on his mind. DJ's assignment? Keep the sexy leader of the historical undead out of trouble. Good luck with that.

Duty clashes with love, loyalty with deception, and friendship with responsibility as DJ navigates passion and politics in the murky waters of a New Orleans caught in the grips of a brutal winter that might have nothing to do with Mother Nature.

War could be brewing, and DJ will be forced to take a stand. But choosing sides won't be that easy. (less)
Hardcover352 pages
Expected publication: April 21st 2015 by Tor Books
9. Lion Heart (Scarlet # 3) by A.C. Gaughen
Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.

Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince's clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate—and her heart—won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all? (less)
Hardcover304 pages
Expected publication: May 19th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
10. The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles # 2) by Mary E. Pearson
Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar's interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country... and her own destiny. (less)
Hardcover480 pages
Expected publication: July 7th 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)



*Gizmos Book Reviews* Black Widow (Elemental Assassin #12) by Jennifer Estep

**I received this book for free from Pocket Books via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

*Synopsis*

With wicked Fire elemental Mab Monroe long gone, you’d think I could finally catch a break. But someone’s always trying to take me down, either as Gin Blanco or my assassin alter-ago. Now along comes the Spider’s new arch-nemesis, the mysteriously named M. M. Monroe, who is gleefully working overtime to trap me in a sticky web of deceit.

The thing is, I’m not the only target. I can see through the tangled threads enough to know that every bit of bad luck my friends have been having lately is no accident—and that each unfortunate “coincidence” is just one more arrow drawing ever closer to hitting the real bulls-eye. Though new to Ashland, this M. M. Monroe is no stranger to irony, trying to get me, an assassin, framed for murder. Yet, as my enemy’s master plan is slowly revealed, I have a sinking feeling that it will take more than my powerful Ice and Stone magic to stop my whole life from going up in flames.
 


*My Review*

Even after 12 novels in the Elemental Assassin series, Estep manages to somehow keep things interesting rather than jumping off the tracks like other authors have. Every time I read one of Jennifer's novels in this series, I have "Another One Bites The Dust" by Queen running through my head. Black Widow is actually timid in comparison to other novels in the amount of bloodshed and bodies that actually hit the ground, but it doesn't hold back on the action, the mystery, or the suspense at what comes next.

Black Widow is a cat and mouse game between Gin's people and Madeline Monroe's allies. While Gin's friends and sister have somehow managed to avoid getting caught in the middle of Gin's actions for the most part, they have no escape avenue this time around. They find themselves in situations that to be honest, would tear apart friends and families. However, living in Ashland is anything but ordinary even on the slowest of days. Just being friends with a "former" assassin, gives life a whole new meaning.

Madeline is perhaps one of the more interesting villains in this series because of her brand of magic and the fact that she's done more to disrupt Gin's life than anyone else. Thanks to Madeline's machinations and her desire for payback, Gin faces her own mortality. I found myself grinding my teeth while reading Black Widow because I almost didn't trust that Estep would leave everyone's lives in tact. As I have learned in the past, one must take a deep breath and relax because Estep will find a way to make things right.

The ending of Black Widow leaves some interesting questions about Gin's future. The family feud that has simmered between Gin's family and the Monroe's ever since her mother and sister were killed, has come full circle. I am sure Estep will find more ways to entertain readers in Spider's Trap (Elemental Assassin #13) which releases July 28, 2015 by Pocket.

Author - Jennifer Estep
Title - Black Widow (Elemental Assassin # 12)
Published by Pocket Books
Release date: November 25, 2014
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: E-Book, 400 pages



Sunday, November 16, 2014

*Gizmos Book Reviews* A Cursed Bloodline (Weird Girls #4) by Cecy Robson

**I received this book for free from Publisher (Loveswept) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

*Synopsis*

Just when Celia thinks the supernatural world can’t turn deadlier, a new rival emerges, proving just how dangerous a power-hungry were can be.

Since being cursed with unique abilities, Celia Wird and her three sisters have fought the most bloodthirsty preternaturals in the Lake Tahoe region. But Celia’s greatest threat is someone she would have never suspected: Anara, a werewolf Elder who has allowed his hatred for Celia to spiral out of control. In a play for dominance, Anara tortures Celia and gives her an ultimatum: sever her mate bond with pureblood were Aric — or Anara will kill everyone she loves.

From the instant they met, Celia and Aric have shared an attraction that cannot be tamed. So keeping Aric away is impossible, and Aric would sooner die than allow anyone to hurt the woman he loves. Misha, master vampire and Celia’s sworn protector, also finds his way into the chaos, seeking blood from those who have harmed her.

Now Celia and her sisters are caught in the middle of a war driven by lust, fueled by hatred, and destined to end in tragedy. For Anara is a force to be reckoned with, and he will not succumb without robbing Celia of those who hold her heart.


*My Thoughts*

There is so much I have to say about A Cursed Bloodline (Weird Girls #4), that in order for me to say what I am hoping to say, my review may sound like I'm a raving lunatic. You see ladies and germs, even though I adore Cecy like my own sister, she's a sadist pure and simple. She tears your heart into little bitty pieces and leaves no stone unturned in her desire to painfully torture all her characters to the brink of complete annihilation.

I think A Cursed Bloodline is perhaps the darkest story of the entire series because of supervillains desire to destroy Celia and Celia's own desire to protect everyone except herself from being abused, tortured, or killed outright. Celia suffers throughout A Cursed Bloodline. She is put into a horrible situation where if she opens her mouth and asks for help, her loved ones will die. No character is without impunity. Each of the main characters leaves a little bit of themselves behind.

You just know that there will be repercussions for what happened to Celia and her sisters in this story. There has to be. You can not expect them to just perk up and be normal after what they experienced. In real life, these 4 ladies would be suffering from a major case of PTSD and in need of hours of deep emotional therapy to overcome their grief. Unfortunately, I don't think Cecy is going to allow them any time to regain their composures before tossing another grenade at their feet after reading the Blurb for book # 5.

I respect that Cecy doesn't use rape in her stories. She could and I'm sure there are those who would just roll with it or ignore it. That would just make me sad and hesitant about continuing with this series. No, but she does push the envelope on pain and suffering, and you wonder where it all will end when the bad guys don't seem to be capable of defeating Cecy, her sisters, or her allies. The non-stop determination of these villains to kill Cecy, has become almost comic relief in nature because it is so apparent that they won't stop until they are obliterated, or Celia dies.

I have to mention the triangle of doom between Celia, Misha, and Aric. I don't believe in team this, or team that. Let's look at each characters body of work over the course of this series, and then say that THAT person is the one who will find happiness with Celia. My feeling towards triangles remains the same. Someone ALWAYS loses unless you are writing about polygamy and then I'm not interested. Even though both Aria and Misha would give their lives for Celia, it is the future I'm focused on.

At this point, the whole Destiny foreshadowing about Celia's future is a bit silly to consider especially what happens in this story. Misha really made out to be the bad guy in this novel in my opinion, while Emme is the most emotional torn apart. I just didn't like his aggressiveness in the face of everything that was happening to Celia and knowing that she's in love with Aric. Perhaps it is his characters intentional arrogance, or refusal to go quietly into the background while Celia is consorting with Aric. As for Emme, I truly do hope that she finds her knight in shining armor like her others sisters apparently have.

Next Installment: A Curse Unbroken (Weird Girls #5) releases March 10th 2015 by Loveswept

Title - A Cursed Bloodline
Series - Weird Girls # 4
Published by Loveswept
Released - November 18, 2014
Genre - Urban Fantasy Romance
Format - E-Book 370 pages

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...